Don’t call us…

One ringy dingy…

Being of a ‘certain age’, I can remember when utilities like water, electricity, gas and the telephone were in public ownership.

In fact, I can even remember paying bills to these national entities.

Now, of course, it’s different.

I’m still with BT after many years – never had any complaints, we don’t seem to pay much at all for the service and I like the idea of keeping my phone account separate from my broadband and TV accounts.

I pay by direct debit and so we use the phone, a bit of money leaves the current account every month and we’re quite happy with things the way they are.

I got one of those really rather fucking irritating calls this morning from BT along the lines of , ‘As you’ve been such a good customer for so long we’d like to reward you with…’

They were trying to get me to take on BT broadband – yes, I know it has some snappy title but I really don’t give a wallaby-felcher’s fuck – which I’ve avoided like Ebola after several friends assured me that the fuck service was worse than shit.

I told the guy that I was very happy with what I’d got and that it was a pity to waste a small portion of both our valuable lives by continuing with the phone call, but he persisted and started to ask who my ISP was.

Rather than tell him to fuck off, which is what I felt like doing, I said, ‘I’ve told you I’m happy with my supplier and that should be good enough for you, goodbye’, and then I hung up.

People trying to sell me stuff on the doorstep get the same treatment.

If I want to buy something – goods, services, etc – then I’ll seek it out myself, in my own time and on my own terms.

What I don’t want is someone coming along , refusing to take no for an answer and wasting my time.

Perhaps if I wasn’t paying for his time then BT could cut my cunting bill even more.

Just a thought.

Some great music (Has any mortal – dead or living – ever been sexier than Debbie Harry?) to conclude this entry:

6 Responses

  1. several friends assured me that the fuck service was worse than shit.

    Not sure if that was intentional, but that’s a brilliant turn of phrase.

  2. Intentional – I’m listening to a lot of Lewis Black!

  3. Perhaps if I wasn’t paying for his time then BT could cut my cunting bill even more.

    Nah – doesn’t work like that. If these cunts weren’t bringing in more than they cost to emply them, they’d be out of teh door in two minutes flat.

    Ergo, this must generate revenue for BT.

    So if they cut it out, your bill would rise.

    That is all.

    AJ

  4. It’s worse if you are with BT Broadband and want to move to Sky. They go into persuasion overload and make everything deliberately difficult if you stand your ground.

    Being a stubborn fucker, I eventually got them to co-operate, but I’m sure there are many who don’t like the stress and give up on the idea.

    And as a former Blondie fan club member who plastered all four walls and half of the ceiling in my teen bedroom with pictures of Debbie Harry, I’d have to agree with you.

  5. And as a former Blondie fan club member who plastered all four walls and half of the ceiling in my teen bedroom with…

    Jesus Fookin Christ.. I wondered what horror I was about to read there… lol

  6. I hear sooooo many bad things said about BT broadband but I’ve had them for 30 months now and am happy with the service. I guess it depends on where you live?

    The salesperson was trying to add data, any data, to your call sheet so that the next time they call you they have a more personalised approach. If you can be bothered then next time they call pick any ISP other than your own and tell them that is the one you use then wait for the next call after that.. .. ..

    I’m very similar with my attitude to companies that cold call. If only they spent more money retaining loyal customers they wouldn’t have to spend so much drumming up new business.

Leave a Reply

