18 (Contains strong sex and sex references)

Given Sacha Baron Cohen’s past form – Ali G and Borat – it was inevitable that his latest offering ‘Bruno’ was going to offend some people.

Having said that, most people should now have a rough idea of what to expect from the Bruno Movie, although a cinema in Navan in the Republic of Ireland spells it out very clearly:

Film fans ringing for showtimes at the Diamond Cinema in Navan were told on the recorded message: “Bruno is particularly vile.

“It leads to a hell of a lot of complaints from people who say ‘we didn’t think it was going to be that bad’.

“It is that bad – it will offend every prejudice in the book, believe me, so don’t come after the film and tell us how horrible it was.”

He adds: “One or two people have enjoyed it though.”

I love the warning not to moan if you’re offended and, in particular, the last sentence which admits that it might still be entertaining even though ‘vile’.

So much more adult than the usual bullshit you get when films are described, such as:

Contains mild threat and scary scenes and one use of mild language

Of course, in an ideal world, people would be able to make their own minds up about what they were going to see on a cinema or TV screen and take responsibility for what their children watch, but we seem all to willing to let the State do this for us…

5 Responses

  1. The whole “let’s explain the certificate to people that are too un-intelligent to work it out for themselves” really gets my goat… If something’s rated 18, it’s pretty fair to say that it’s going contain violence, sex, swearing and, if you’re lucky, all three.

    Mind you, I’m still amused by statements such as “contains cartoon violence and scenes of mild peril” 🙂

  2. I loved Bruno! it was SO funny ! LOLz

    I hope you read my little review on Bruno’s Dick ( LOL )on my blog Not Sure…
    here is a link
    http://mouhanad.wordpress.com/

    See you on my blog, leave me a comment!

  3. I don’t ‘get’ Cohen’s humour, finding it cringemaking in the extreme…

    Interesting that it took a quote from Ireland to demonstrate humanity rather than automatonism.

    AJ

  4. I guess you either find that sort of ‘fooled you’ humour amusing or not.

    I’m not a fan of that sort of humour.

    It’s akin to that pile of TV shite that Jeremy Beadle was in. The show where someone thought their pet goat had been killed in a car crusher, a lot of swearing got beeped out and then there was laughter all round when it turned out to be a jolly jape and the goat was fine.

    Why someone didn’t kill Beadle I’ll never know.

    Most people really are easy to fool if you go to the required lengths.

    I think if you do fool them then maybe the filmed results are more about how clever you were fooling them than whatever was amusing about the whole deal.

    That Irish phone message could have been lifted straight out of ‘Father Ted’, couldn’t it?

  5. I have to admit I’ve never really ‘got’ Sacha Baron Cohen’s style of humour at all. Ali G, Borat and now Bruno; I’ve found them all deeply unfunny and spent more time squirming in my seat than laughing.

    But then I’ve rarely enjoyed the comedy of embarrassment much, spending far too much of it cringing (Ricky Gervaise’s The Office was another that had the same effect).

    Probably the last thing in this genre I truly enjoyed was Spinal Tap and it’s various offshoots, probably because there isn’t the same element of cruelty found in Baron Cohen or Gervaise’s comedy.

Leave a Reply

