A New England

Where do you start?

‘New England’, sung by Kirsty McColl, is one of my favourite recordings ever.

I’m not a great Billy Bragg fan, but he wrote an excellent song here – the music and lyrics are brilliant – and Kirsty’s lead vocals and double tracked harmonies are just sublime. If there really were angels then I’d like to think they sounded like this when they sang.

The arrangement is great – a clever bass line and some beautiful electric 12 string, and I’m a real sucker for that Byrds-type jangle.

And of course, dear Kirsty is gone – killed in a tragic accident in Mexico and the exact circumstances still haven’t been tested in a court of law.

I was 21 years when I wrote this song
I’m 22 now but I won’t be for long
People ask me when will I grow up to understand
Why the girls I knew at school are already pushing prams

I loved you then as I love you still
Though I put you on a pedestal you put me on the pill
I don’t feel bad about letting you go
I just feel sad about letting you know

I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?
I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?

I loved the words you wrote to me
But that was bloody yesterday
I can’t survive on what you send
Every time you need a friend

I saw two shooting stars last night
I wished on them but they were only satellites
It’s wrong to wish on space hardware
I wish, I wish, I wish you’d care

I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?
I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?

My dreams were full of strange ideas*
My mind was set despite your fears
But other things got in the way
I never asked that boy to stay

Once upon a time at home
I sat beside the telephone
Waiting for someone to pull me through
When at last it didn’t ring I knew it wasn’t you

I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?
I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another?
I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
Are you looking for another girl?
Looking for another girl?
Looking for another girl?
Looking for another girl?
Girl?
Girl?
Girl?

4 Responses

  1. “I saw two shooting stars last night
    I wished on them but they were only satellites
    It’s wrong to wish on space hardware
    I wish, I wish, I wish you’d care”

    One of my favourite lyrics ever.

  2. Once upon a time at home
    I sat beside the telephone
    Waiting for someone to pull me through
    When at last it didn’t ring I knew it wasn’t you

    My favourite bit.

  3. everytime i hear kirsty’s voice it chokes me up.
    to think that such a wonderful human being was taken in such horrific circumstances…..life is indeed unfair.

  4. Yeah…me too.

    And all these years on we still don’t know the full facts.

    She’s very greatly missed here.

Leave a Reply

