Bishop talks through arsehole

Every now and then, you come across a story that has you reaching for the calendar to check that it really isn’t April the first.

Middle-class drinkers in their homes are as bad as riotous youths, says bishop

The Rt Rev John Gladwin, the Bishop of Chelmsford, criticised the double-standards he claims exist in the attitudes of more affluent sections of society towards Britain’s “binge-drinking” culture.

He argued that they could not condemn teenagers’ behaviour if they are getting drunk themselves, and claimed that they are ultimately responsible for the rise in alcoholism.

Where do you fucking start?

Well, first of all, I’ll be honest and say that I had a few drinks last night.

I had several large Pimms – my favourite sunny Saturday drink, long with lemonade over ice and a bit of fruity and salady garnish – a bit of cucumber, strawberries, etc.

I then had a couple of glasses of Cremant de Bourgogne Rose.

I felt a little tipsy when I was into the Pimms, but managed to cook the Bouef Bourgignon that we had later without any problems.

I’m racking my brains to recall if I kicked a pensioner to death, went out for a drunken drive in a stolen car and ran over a group of children or smashed up a bus shelter whilst yelling obscenities, but nothing comes to mind.

As far as I can tell, I didn’t even puke on the pavement or collapse in a comatose heap anywhere.

But it’s all my fault is it, when chavs do these things?

Listen you self-righteous twat in a funny collar – you’re just another media whore trying to justify your own privileged lifestyle and just one more in the long line of cunts who claims to know the answer to society’s evils. Something I find ironic when your field of expertise is based on one of the most divisive concepts ever dreamed up by mankind.

More pertinently, what gives you the right to tell me that I’m wrong in the way I live my life, where I drink, when I drink and what I drink?

I can’t see one shred of supporting evidence to show how this twat arrived at his opinionated conclusion.

Perhaps I just have to have ‘faith’, eh?

It’s annoying enough when the government tells me what I should be doing – but at least they’re (mostly) elected.

Not so this tit.

I see from Wikipedia that Gladwin is going to retire in August this year.

Hoo-fucking-ray.

Fuck off, Bish.

UPDATE:

I’ve just thought, I bet I spend less on drinking at home than some of these chavs who neck down supermarket Stella and vodka at home or a mate’s and then go off drinking in pubs and clubs charging inflated prices.

So Gladwin’s quote…

“Growing prosperity is behind the rise in alcoholism. We now go out and buy our wine for the weekend.”

…makes even less sense than it did when I first read it.

And is going and buying a bottle or two of wine for the weekend a recent phenomenon?

I’ve been doing it for about 35 years now.

What a douchebag.

Leave a Reply

