I’d just like to say…

…that I find it intensely annoying when people supporting the Labour party assume that someone like myself who is critical of the party is a Tory.

I also find it equally intensely annoying that Tories see people like myself who are critical of their party as de facto pro-Labour.

Furthermore, people should not assume that people like myself who care for neither the Tory or Labour party are Lib Dem, UKIP, etc, etc.

I am now proud to be a ‘floating voter’.

3 Responses

  1. Agreed! I also dislike being labeled, I have still yet to decide which of the parties I agree with most, given I disagree with all of them in one way or another, I guess that makes me undecided.

  2. Same here. I voted for (old) Labour for years, even though I don’t share their traditional Euro-scepticism. I couldn’t vote for them now, even if there are plenty of decent Labour back-benchers, and I’ll never vote Tory, as their entire world view is so opposed to mine. The Lib Dems are possibly closest, but unlikely to get anywhere, so I’m sticking with the local view… our MP (Lib Dem) is a good bloke and works well as a local representative in parliament, so my vote is entirely based on that rather than any question of overall leadership.

  3. I’m guessing that floating voters are going to be pretty significant in the next election.
    I may end up voting Lib Dem – not as a protest – but to see a parliament with the Lib Dems holding the balance of power after the Tories have squeaked in with a very narrow majority but not an overall one.
    That way Labour are out of the picture and some of the Tories’ worse excesses are tempered by the Lib Dems.
    I may…then again I may not…

Leave a Reply

