Earth Hour – more eco-bollocks

FFS!

Isn’t it time we told these fuckers to stop all this hectoring, condescending,  puerile crap?

Earth Hour is happening tonight…when everyone who turns off their lights for an hour at 8.30 PM local time is voting for the Earth and everyone who doesn’t is voting  for global warming.

How dare they take my right to turn on my lights wherever and whenever I please and twist it into some sort of statement about my beliefs!

It’s dark at 8.30 PM this time of year and I’m fucked if I’m going to sit in darkness like some sort of urban troglodyte because I don’t want to be thought of as a planet destroyer.

I’m paying for the facility to turn my dark environment into a lighted one – it’s called living in the modern world.

Yes, I could light a candle but when I can turn on a light at the flick of a switch, why the fuck should I?

(I wonder how many extra house fires will have to be extinguished tonight at about 8.40 PM?)

For what it’s worth, as may be fairly obvious, I’m a climate change sceptic but I don’t agree with waste, so I recycle, turn off lights and appliances when I don’t need them and thus achieve the same ends without the blind acceptance of what seems to be the 21st century’s new religion with its attendant zealots, preachers and hypocrites.

I’m convinced that a few people are making serious, serious money from this whole climate change issue and that the general public are once more being conned left, right and center so that these few people can line their pockets at our expense.

I realise that by taking this stance I’m a bad person and that I’m bound for eco-Hell but I don’t fucking care.

My lights will be on at 8.30 PM tonight – not all the ones in the house, just the ones I need.

No doubt I shall have the TV and/or DVD player on, too.

Maybe a table lamp as well.

Join me in the light…

2 Responses

  1. I hear your point.

    However, I could drive a truck through the logical fallacy in your opening argument: X implies Y does not mean (Not X) implies (Not Y).

  2. It seems perfectly logical to me.

    Here’s what the Earth Hour site says:

    ‘Switching off your lights is a vote for Earth, or leaving them on is a vote for global warming.’

    In other words, if I leave my lights on then I’m voting (and that’s a perversion of meaning right there) for global warming.

    I’m not, I’m leaving them on because I don’t believe that the main and significant elements of climate change are down to the influence of humankind.

    Earth Hour does not seem to take this viewpoint into account but, instead, makes false assumptions about my beliefs to bolster up its own position.

Leave a Reply

